The funny misadventure of Luke Donald trapped at the Italian Open

Even when you have the track record and experience of former world number 1 Luke Donald, it’s still possible to get caught up in one of the most obvious rules of the game of golf. The one that consists of identifying your ball and thus avoiding being penalized stupidly.

On the par 4 hole n ° 16 Friday of the 2nd round of the Italian Open, Luke Donald sent his face-off in the rough, where one of the course commissioners present on the route of the future Ryder Cup believed to find her.

When the Englishman approached the area, he played this ball spotted by the volunteer, convinced that it was his, a red Titleist n°4.

Lack of luck or carelessness of the player, this ball was not that of the Captain of Ryder Cup. “Bad drive in the high rough, I played and then realized I had played a bad ball. Same Tittleist 4 red but not with my markings. This is the first time this has happened to me.” Donald commented on Twitter.

Bounce !

Realizing his mistake before finishing the hole, he was not disqualified, but Donald was forced to return to playing his real ball. He received two penalty strokes and registered an annoying triple bogey on his card. Despite this blunder, the 44-year-old didn’t give up and then signed 5 birdies over the next 8 holes.

His 68 allowed him to enter the top 10 on the eve of the weekend!

Photo © STUART FRANKLIN / GETTY IMAGES EUROPE / Getty Images via AFP

Leave a Comment