NASCAR: Hendrick sweeps front row, William Byron on pole at Kansas – Full qualifying results

2023 AdventHealth 400 in Kansas – Qualifying Results
Pos Driver Crew Maker
1 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports Chevy
2 Kyle Larson Hendrick Motorsports Chevy
3 Ross Chestnut TrackHouse Racing Chevy
4 Martin Truex Jr. Joe Gibbs Race Toyota
5 Tyler Red Dick 23XI Race Toyota
6 Joey Logan Team Penske Ford
7 Ty Gibbs Joe Gibbs Race Toyota
8 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Race Toyota
9 daniel suarez TrackHouse Racing Chevy
ten ryan blaney Team Penske Ford
11 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing Chevy
12 Christopher Bell Joe Gibbs Race Toyota
13 Kevin Harvick Stewart Haas Racing Ford
14 Chris Buescher RFK Race Ford
15 Austin Cindric Team Penske Ford
16 Kyle Busch Richard Childress Racing Chevy
17 Bubba Wallace 23XI Race Toyota
18 Aric Almirola Stewart Haas Racing Ford
19 Erik Jones Legacy Motor Club Chevy
20 Brad Keselowski RFK race Ford
21 Chase Elliot Hendrick Motorsports Chevy
22 Noah Gragson Legacy Motor Club Chevy
23 Michael McDowell Motorsports in the front row Ford
24 Corey LaJoie Spire Motorsports Chevy
25 Harrison Burton Race of the Wood Brothers Ford
26 Ty Dillon Spire Motorsports Chevy
27 AJ Allmendinger Kaulig race Chevy
28 Ryan Precece Stewart Haas Racing Ford
29 Josh Berry Hendrick Motorsports Chevy
30 Justin Haley Kaulig Race Chevy
31 Chasing Briscoe Stewart Haas Racing Ford
32 Todd Gilliland Motorsports in the front row Ford
33 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. JTG Daugherty Racing Chevy
34 Brennan Poole Rick Ware Racing Ford
35 JJ Yeley Rick Ware Racing Ford
36 Josh Bilicki Fast Motorsport Live Chevy

Hendrick Motorsports swept the front row of qualifying today at Kansas Speedway, with William Byron taking his second pole of the season and 10th of his Cup career. Byron edged teammate Kyle Larson for first place by 0.006 seconds in the final qualifying round.

Byron scored the wall earlier in practice but prevailed in qualifying. “We had a bit of trouble getting off the truck but the guys brought a great car here. I hit the wall like a dummy so I cleared that mistake and then had a good practice. “I love coming to Kansas. It’s a fun race track. It’s going to be really tough tomorrow, running against the fence. It’s going to be the dominant pace. Right now we’re going to take advantage of pole.”

Current points leader Ross Chastain and last week’s winner Martin Truex Jr will start from row 2 tomorrow. Row 3 features Tyler Reddick and Joey Logano, with Joe Gibbs Racing drivers Ty Gibbs and Denny Hamlin lining up in Row 4. Daniel Suarez and Ryan Blaney round out the top ten, making it a strong Saturday for Trackhouse Racing and Team Think.

Reddick will be aiming for history in tomorrow’s race. If he can pass the checkered flag, it would be the first time in NASCAR history that a car has won three consecutive races at a track with three different drivers. Kurt Busch won that race last year and Bubba Wallace drove the No. 45 to victory lane in the fall after Busch suffered his concussion.

Wallace was the slowest of the Toyota cars in qualifying and will start 17th. Austin Dillon, Christopher Bell and Kevin Harvick narrowly missed out on the final qualifying round. The Stewart Haas Racing driver is not the only former champion with work to do on Sunday, as Kyle Busch (16th), Brad Keselowski (20th) and Chase Elliott (21st) will start further afield.

Previous Kansas winners

2022: Bubba Wallace

2022: Kurt Busch

2021: Kyle Larson

2021: Kyle Busch

2020: Joey Logano

2020: Denny Hamlin

2019: Denny Hamlin

2019: Brad Keselowski

2018: Chase Elliott

2018: Kevin Harvick

2017: Martin Truex Jr.

2017: Martin Truex Jr.

2016: Kevin Harvick

2016: Kyle Busch

2015: Joey Logano

2015: Jimmie Johnson

2014: Joey Logan

2014: Jeff Gordon

Leave a Comment