Euro 2022 | The four Antetokounmpo brothers pre-selected with Greece

Unless disaster strikes, Giannis Antetokounmpo will be one of the three NBA superstars present at the next EuroBasket, along with Luka Doncic and Nikola Jokic.

As expected, the double MVP was actually pre-selected by his coach Dimitris Itoudis, who also selected 22 other players in this first list, which will then have to be reduced to 12.

Alongside Giannis Antetokounmpo, we also find his three brothers, Thanasis, Costas and Alexalthough it would be quite surprising to see them all preserved on arrival.

The rest of the squad includes some pretty names, well known to NBA and/or Euroleague fans. Like Nick Calathes (former Grizzlies), Kostas Papanikolaou (former Rockets and Nuggets), Georgios Papagiannis (former Kings and Blazers), the naturalized Tyler Dorsey (currently at the Mavericks) or even Kostas Sloukas.

Suffice to say that, on paper, Greece clearly has what it takes to get a medal next September (from the 1st to the 18th). It would also be his first in international competition since Euro 2009.

Finally, remember that during this Euro 2022, Giannis Antetokounmpo and his family will be in Pool C (in Milan), along with Italy, Croatia, Great Britain, Ukraine and Estonia. A rather affordable group therefore, while the first four in the standings will then qualify for the knockout phase (in Berlin).

The complete pre-selection

—Nick Calathes, Kostas Papanikolaou (Olympiakos), Kostas Sloukas (Olympiakos), Giannis Antetokounmpo (Bucks), Georgios Papagiannis (Panathinaikos), Thanasis Antetokounmpo (Bucks), Dimitris Agravanis (Olympiakos), Leonidas Kaselakis (Peristeri), Lefteris Bochoridis (Panathinaikos), Kostas Antetokounmpo, Michalis Lountzis (Olympiakos), Tyler Dorsey (Mavericks), Panagiotis Kalaitzakis (Panathinaikos), Dimitris Moraitis (Peristeri), Nikos Chougkaz (Panathinaikos), Kostas Gontikas (Pitesti), Giannis Kouzeloglou (AEK Athens), Alex Antetokounmpo (Wisconsin Herd), Lefteris Mantzoukas (Panathinaikos), Omiros Netzipoglou (Aris), Giorgos Tanoulis (Promitheas), Ioannis Papapetrou (Partizan).

Leave a Comment