All Stars Ready To Invade Michigan, Ohio For Three-Race Swing

The All Stars will conclude their three-day trip at Waynesfield Raceway. (Paul Arch photo)

BROWNSBURG, Ind. – The Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 will activate their May slate with a three-race swing through Michigan and Ohio, launching the weekend tripleheader with a visit to I-96 Speedway, Wayne County Speedway, and Waynesfield Raceway Park.

Starting off in Lake Odessa, Michigan, the Mace Thomas Classic will begin the tripleheader at I-96 Speedway on Friday, May 13. The event will award an $8,500 payday, the first and only Michigan appearance for the series during the 2022 season. The traveling All Stars battled at I-96 twice a season ago with “Sunshine” Tyler Courtney and Rudeen Racing’s Cory Eliason each earning a trip to victory lane. Courtney’s victory occurred during last year’s Mace Thomas Classic, also awarding an $8,500 payday.

Wayne County Speedway in Orrville, Ohio, will be next on the hit list with a visit set for Saturday, May 14, replacing the originally scheduled stop in Joliet, Illinois. Known for its elbows-up attitude and bullring action, Wayne County, awarding $6,000 on Saturday night, will host the All Star Circuit of Champions twice during the 2022 season with the second occurring during Ohio Sprint Speedweek on Monday, June 13. The lone visit to “Orrville’s Historic Oval” in 2021 was captured by NASCAR Cup Series champion, Kyle Larson, outrunning Zeb Wise and Paul McMahan for a $6,000 Speedweek payday.

From one Wayne to the next, Waynesfield Raceway Park in Waynesfield, Ohio, will cap the weekend tripleheader with an All Star program on Sunday, May 15. Originally slated for Sunday, May 1, but rescheduled due to weather, the visit to Waynesfield’s highbanks will award a $6,000 prize, giving teams an opportunity to test their limits before returning the western Ohio bullring during Ohio Sprint Speedweek. The series made two appearances at Waynesfield Raceway Park in 2021 with Kyle Larson and Cole Duncan each earning one triumph.

“Sunshine” Tyler Courtney will lead the All Stars into battle during the coming weekend as the current championship points leader. The driver of the Clauson Marshall Racing No. 7BC sits on top of the title chase with a 24-point lead over Sam McGhee Motorsports’ Parker Price-Miller. Courtney owns two points-earning victories on the season, sweeping the Attica Spring Nationals over Easter weekend to launch his title defense.

Price-Miller, who is currently seven for seven in points-earning top-ten finishes in 2022, sits just ahead of Cap Henry, Justin Peck, and Bill Balog in the championship standings. Hunter Schuerenberg, Zeb Wise, Cory Eliason, Kyle Reinhardt, and Tim Shaffer round out the top-ten.

Leave a Comment