24 Hours of Le Mans 2023 – The list of 186 drivers for the centenary edition revealed!

Empty boxes were rare, but they are now filled. Indeed, the ACO has just unveiled the complete list of entries for the centenary edition. As a reminder, 62 cars are expected, namely 16 in Hypercar, 24 in LMP2 and 21 in GTE Am, which gives us a total of 186 drivers.


If we had known for a long time that the Glickenhaus n°708 would be entrusted, at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, to Ryan Briscoe, Romain Dumas and Olivier Pla, it remained to be seen who would support Franck Mailleux on the n°709. The Frenchman, third in the event last year with Ryan Briscoe and Richard Wesbrook, will be able to count on the help of a former LMP1 player and an ex-F1 driver this year.

Seen at Rebellion in 2019 and 2020, Nathanaël Berthon will take part in his 8th 24 Hours of Le Mans. As a reminder, the 33-year-old Frenchman’s best results in Sarthe are 5th place in 2019 and 4th in 2020, precisely with the Swiss team.


The other lucky winner is Esteban Gutiérrez, who discovered the 24 Hours of Le Mans last year with Inter Europol Competition. Aged 31, he has for him to have competed in 59 Formula 1 Grands Prix between 2013 and 2016 for the Sauber F1 Team then the Haas F1 Team. Since then, the 2010 GP3 champion has been seen in Formula E, IndyCar, WEC last year and even at the 24 Hours of Daytona at the end of January.


DKR Engineering and Inter Europol Competition having lifted the veil on their crews over the past two days, no news is to be announced.


On the Ferrari n°21 operated by AF Corse, Julien Piguet joins Simon Mann and Ulysse De Pauw. The Frenchman, who takes the place of Diego Alessi, will participate in his second round of the Sarthe clock after a first appearance in 2020.

On another 488 GTE, in this case the JMW Motorsport n°66, Thomas Neubauer was the only driver entered so far. The Habs now know the identity of their team-mates: they are the Monegasque Louis Prette (whose this will be the third start after 2019 and 2022) and Giacomo Petrobelli, who is already defending the interests of the British team in the European Le Mans Series. .

On the Ferrari n°74 of Kessel Racing, Fumanelli disappears in favor of three Japanese. Swift and credited with two appearances at the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 2019 and 2020, Kei Cozzolino is back. He will try to coach Yurikatsu Tsujiko and Naoki Yokomizo, respectively ranked Bronze and Silver. If the two men have been seen in particular in GT World Challenge Asia, the latter also has for him to have won Formula Toyota in 2001, the Super GT – GT300 in 2012 or the Asian Le Mans Series 2013.

As expected, Gianmaria Bruni will not be in the #88 Proton Competition Porsche 911 RSR-19. The leader of this crew will be Harry Tincknell, for whom this will be the 10th start in La Sarthe. With, at his side, Oliver Millroye and Brendan Iribe, the Briton has assets to put forward. On the n°911, Richard Lietz and Michael Fassbender will be accompanied by Martin Rump.

Finally, for its first appearance at the 24 Hours of Le Mans following its Asian Le Mans title, Walkenhorst Motorsport has decided to entrust its #100 Ferrari 488 GTE to rookie Chandler Hull, as well as Andrew Haryanto (2 starts) and to Jeffrey Segal, credited with three podiums in GTE Am including a victory in five appearances.

56th Booth

No surprise on the side of the box reserved for a so-called innovative car, since the Nascar Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 from Hendrick Motorsports will be well driven by the seven-time Nascar champion Jimmie Johnson, the winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans 2010 Mike Rockenfeller and the world champion of F1 2009 Jenson Button.


According to this official list, none of the five substitutes withdrew their candidacy. But barring a huge surprise, the Montoya family, Jonathan Adam or even Timo Glock should all stay on the floor.

Leave a Comment